Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Monday, Oct. 06, 2003 - 7:12 p.m.

My hamstrings are sore from painting L�s spare bedroom Saturday. This might reasonably elicit some or all of the following questions: �How exactly do you paint, Eva? Do you clench the paintbrush between your knees? Were you in gravity boots?� The answer to those questions, beyond �no�, is that I am not sure why my hamstrings are sorer than the parts of my body one might expect to be sore � shoulders and forearms, for example. I think it must have been the repeated squats to reload the roller with paint, as well as the repeated calf raises to paint along the tops of the walls. All I know is that it hurts to walk.

I went to the State Fair last night. Ah, South Carolina�and ah, elephant ears. I don�t normally go in for the fried dough so much, especially that of the sweet variety, but I enjoyed the fried dough of last night. I also enjoyed the hilarious chickens. I will have to prepare a full report for submission tomorrow, I do believe. For now, I have prepared for you the following List, accompanied by Discussion Notes.

Names I Have, With Mild Horror, Found Myself Calling The Cat:

  • Kittypants
  • Kittyhead
  • Kittyface
  • Cathead
  • Facehead (yep, that�s what I said)
  • Prettypants
  • Boogerhead
  • Whineroonioo
  • Noisypants
  • Pretty Pretty Princess
  • Cat-o-tron
  • Ronniepoo
  • Ronniebunchcakes
  • Catness
  • Ronifacio (pronounced with a trill, rhymes with �Bonifacio�)
  • Puppy (???)
  • Roomiepants (derived from �roommate� + �-pants�)

I�m not sure I should go on. You can see the pattern.

Ronnie�s first name, proffered by the stoner boys upstairs, was Jinxy. My old roommates named her Grifty McGrift. I named her Veronica. When I took her to the vet for the first time, the veterinary assistant told me she was a boy, so I changed her name to Ronnie. Now she goes by both: Ronnie, short for Veronica, more or less after the Elvis Costello song �Veronica� and an amazing, tough girl I met once in Denver named Ronnie.

I have pizza in the making again. I am drinking the discount champagne I bought last week�I thought about putting it off until I had many people to celebrate with, but I think getting through twenty student conferences today is cause enough for celebration.

Previous * Guestbook * Next