Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Friday, Mar. 05, 2004 - 8:28 p.m.

I am SO disappointed to find out that Marketplace�s David Brown has long hair. He is now officially the Steven Pinker of economics. This is like when I first found out Sherman Alexie had a mullet. My evenings from 6 to 6:30 will never be the same.

Today is the beginning of Spring Break. I am going to wait several days before grading a single paper*. I drank some vinho verde and made a pizza for dinner, and I have plans to watch movies and go canoeing and drive around and ride my bike and read some articles. I am also going to experiment with buying a leash and taking the cat for a walk, an experiment I hope will be merely zany and not actually perilous. And I am going to write.

Russell updated, finally; here's to more of that.


*Does that sentence sound funny to you? It should be ambiguous: I could either mean I�ll grade exactly one paper several days from now, or just that I really won�t grade anything for several days. But the question is, which reading did you access first � what did the sentence mean when you processed it? I wrote a paper about this a few years back, and this sentence sort of throws it into a new light. If you have any interesting replies, I promise I�ll explicate why this sentence is linguistically cool.

Previous * Guestbook * Next