Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Saturday, Aug. 13, 2005 - 3:58 p.m.

I received an email this week from Johnny, whose mom is correct in saying that my journal is usually for grown-ups. Just this once, though, I bet she'll let him read it.

Here is something you should know about Johnny's journal: he types it himself. I don't know many six-year-olds, so I wasn't sure a six-year-old could really write his own journal, but it's true. Johnny types it, and then his mom fixes his spelling.

Johnny emailed me some pictures of himself, so I'm posting some pictures in return. This is me playing the bass guitar with one of my bands at the Art Bar (or resting between songs, probably). Unlike Johnny, I have all my teeth. You can see my friend Karl behind the drums in the background:
Eva, bass

Here is a silly picture of me, my brother Russell, and his dog Mojo, though not in that order:
Russell, Mojo, Eva

And here is a picture of my boyfriend L stapling some netting to the fence. The netting was for the cucumbers to climb up. This picture was taken back in the spring, before the cucumber plants got some sort of fungus and died:
Stapling

L knew Johnny's mom a long time ago, back when they were teenagers. That's how I know about Johnny and his journal.

Right now there is a chicken roasting in the oven for dinner. I'm sitting on the back porch with my laptop. L is watering the eggplants. I've just finished pruning the hydrangeas. So it's all very domestic and tranquil here.

L's shirt is on backwards.

This is probably my last low-key weekend of the year: I am playing three or four shows in September and recording with two different bands, and next week I start library school. That's right -- I'm getting a Master of Library Science degree. I'll only be going to school part-time (and working full-time), and if I love it, I plan to transfer to another school, just so I don't have two master's degrees from the same institution. I don't know yet whether I'll love it. I know lots of librarians who I love. And I know that librarianship seems like the purest way to do what I love, which is find stuff out. It'll be more complicated than that, of course, but the basic idea is right.

I am going to go for a swim now. I hope you all enjoy Johnny's journal.

Previous * Guestbook * Next