Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Friday, Sept. 05, 2003 - 1:21 p.m.

Never a dull moment:
* One of my STUDENTS asked me out to lunch today.
* I saw real hippies at the grocery store last night. I have not seen real hippies more than twice in two years in Columbia. It felt like I was back in Durango again.
* Those hippies, dreadlocks and stink and all, were behind me in the checkout line and buying the following items: Lucky Charms, two large boxes of Rainbow ChipsAhoy, Kraft Singles, laundry detergent, Wonder Bread, a large bag of frozen french fries...and some Boca burgers. Where am I?
* My friends Steve came to town from Athens yesterday, and I did not go have a beer with him because I felt like staying home. It was like pleasant agoraphobia...the whole time I was away from the apartment, I just wanted to be home, and when I got there, it felt really good and I was unable to leave. I will see Steve tonight, and all will be well.
* Russell made this astute comment upon viewing the Democratic debate in Albuquerque last night (yup, he was actually there): "GOD does Lieberman ever SUCK."
* Actually, Russell had much insightful commentary about the debate. Perhaps he will get his shit together and write it all down here. Let's all urge him to do so.

Also:
Some were perplexed by my description of Bill the Bug Man yesterday, and upon rereading my entry, I understand the confusion. My description was not very vivid, and it was unclear whether Bill is delusional, mentally affected, etc. (and whether I was a horrible person or not).
I assure you that Bill is none of these things. Bill is your five-foot tall, fast-talking redneck uncle. Bill is pulling your leg at all times, and would probably phrase it exactly that way, too. Bill probably knows some card tricks. Every time I see Bill, we talk about the same things: the rattlesnake farm, the rabbits, and whether I will or will not hit him a high note.

Previous * Guestbook * Next