Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Tuesday, Sept. 23, 2003 - 8:47 p.m.

Parts that may give you a general sense of the whole:

The smell of McDonald�s is emanating from my neighbor�s apartment. It is not the smell of food from McDonald�s; it is the actual smell of a McDonald�s restaurant. It is her birthday, as I deduced from the screams of �Happy Birthday!!!� in the hallway a few minutes ago. I think she is pulling fry baskets from the grease-filled bathtub at this moment. All her guests are wearing paper hats and headsets. It is a most ghastly theme party.

Remember several months ago when I mentioned that our drummer had acquired a concealed weapons permit and a gun? Well, said drummer has taken to referring to his gun as his �firearm�.

My paper grading rate today has been pretty good: 34 down, 17 to go.

Russell mentions that he detests the word �nourish�. I detest the word �thong�. I was furious when we moved to Colorado and I had to start referring to zoris as thongs in order to be understood.

I also hate the word �mature�, because there�s no good way to say it. Should it be pronounced with a dental, as in �muh-toor�? Dumb. With an affricate, as in �muh-choor�? Lame. Don�t even get me started on �muh-cherrr�.

I have seen the word �voila� written �viola� at least three times this week (though why my correspondents have been using this word en masse, I cannot tell you). I think this is an effective rhetorical strategy. We should start inserting names of orchestral instruments into our daily emails and conversations more regularly: �And there she is, folks! Bassoon!� or �I now unveil the new prototype! Timpani!�

Can I at least get a sympathy groan? No? Damn. A symphony groan, then? Should I have quit while I was ahead?

My attempts at yoga this evening were impeded by the cat, who was nurturing a deep affection for my feet. She curled up around them and repeatedly pressed her cold nose against my heels, purring.

I have to give a presentation this Friday at a colloquium hosted by my former department. I am most nervous (oooh; we should TOTALLY repopularize that �most + adjective� construction, as in �most heinous�). The talk concerns my thesis, which I haven�t really looked at since I finished it. If my old advisor is in a grumpy mood, there is a good possibility she will be extremely vocal and obstinate during the question session, not because she dislikes me, but because she is a philosopher. This means I should not only be rereading my paper and all my original sources, but coming up with some new ideas as well � I should have some answers for the items I tossed into that �future research� section. This will probably not happen.
If her spiky glare turns me into a pile of ashes, there will probably be no further posts here. I just thought you should know.

If, however, I DO survive, look for cosmetic updates next week. I�m getting� me a Golden Ticket.

Previous * Guestbook * Next