Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 - 5:21 p.m.

Last night I dreamed I was deep frying irregularly-shaped pancakes. I also dreamed people were racing small animals along a trough spread out across the Stanford campus: bunnies, fish, and bugs all participated, though a small frog was the eventual winner.

Yesterday I fixed my food processor. It�s a cheap thing, and when it quit working last week I wasn�t surprised � it had been letting off strange smells for months. Still, I pried it open and found the sources of the problem. The first was a mis-seated plastic gear. The second was a detached spring on the safety switch requiring the bowl to be locked in for the motor to run. I disabled the safety switch entirely; this may not be very smart, but it was thin and dinky, about to break altogether. And I repositioned the gear and greased it up, and now the thing runs perfectly. This is a small triumph, but it felt so good...it�s good to uncover the mysteries of small appliances. Though if you hear I�ve lost half my fingers in a horrible kitchen accident, you�ll know why.

It�s a perfect day and I�m inside grading papers. Allow me one big self-pitying sigh.

Two new names I found myself calling the cat today:
1. Buzzy Bear
2. Shorty

I need a Halloween costume. L and I have failed to find a good John Steed suit and hat for him, so my Emma Peel wouldn�t be as satisfying. Last year I was something lame: a martial arts prom queen, I think (oh yeah! My clever name was Ninjarella!)�and I want something more coherent this year. I was a flapper for about six years straight, and having finally given that dress away I have no fallback costume.

Well, aren't we thrilling today?!

Previous * Guestbook * Next