Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Friday, Nov. 07, 2003 - 3:51 p.m.

I don�t know what to say except to groan loudly, yet with relief. Thank god this week is finished. It wasn�t hard, exactly. It was just a pain in my ass. My second class needs to slapped � they are both uninspired and uninspiring.

And actually, I don�t think slapping is the right idea � I want to shock them, but in a pacifistic nerdy way. There�s already too much meaty athlete bullshit in there: a group of perfectly decent people sit together and turn into Jock Asshole Quadrant, talking while other people talk and oppressing everyone else with their very presence. I look at them and feel sixteen years old again. It�s not just them, either: there�s GodTown off to my left; there�s Always-Save-The-Discussion Girlville right in front of me (thank goodness for those girls); there�s I-Don�t-Think-This-Writer-Is-Being-Very-NICE Girlville to my right; there�s a Napping Area towards the back. And spread throughout are the other clich�s, the beauty pageant participant, the girl who never gets it, the guy who never gets it, the Nice Guy, the guy who called me �sweetie� once (yeah, that�s a whole other story � he certainly hasn�t done it again).

Maybe I�m doing too much work, trying too hard to keep them interested�I don�t know. I try to shock them with the actual course material, try to demonstrate my enthusiasm, but it doesn�t seem to work.

But I don�t have to see them for two days. Moreover, I found out yesterday that I have the perfect teaching schedule next semester: lots of writing lab hours and one Tuesday-Thursday writing class. I like people so much better when I get to go for five days every week without seeing them.

I think this was a crappy week for a lot of people. Let�s try to fix that, okay? I recommend you drink heavily, but not so much that you�re sad the next day. Because the next day you�re going for a hike, okay? And you�re doing something artsy but not musical or writingy (unless you�re not a musician or writer), like Bettina advocates here. If you have a pet, you should take a nap with it on Sunday, unless it's a budgerigar or a grouper or something. If you are me, you should try not to feel guilty about anything all weekend if at all possible.

Previous * Guestbook * Next