Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2004 - 8:59 p.m.

I took this test on identifying fake smiles (via Metafilter) last week and scored 10/20: a statistically perfect bad score. I might as well have been flipping a coin. I didn�t think I�d be very good at telling which smiles were fake, but I didn�t expect to be totally incompetent. However, a related event demonstrates that either I am good at faking it myself, or that my mother is wrong.

My mom said a month ago that I didn�t seem to like teaching very much lately. Sometimes I believe her. But today I got back my student evaluations from last semester � those anonymous questionnaires every student fills out at the end of the semester � and they were astoundingly positive. They were better than those of last year, when I was pretty sure I liked teaching. Most shocking of all was that nearly every one, almost fifty students in all, said I clearly loved and was passionate about teaching. Are they right? Do they know something I don�t know? Or am I just a really convincing faker?

Here are my two favorite comments from the �general evaluation� section:

�She is a wonderful teacher, and I would die to take her for English 102. I enjoyed every day of this class. On a scale of 1-10, I give her an 11.�

�She was a good teacher, however I�ll be praying for her because she isn�t a Christian.�

To borrow a line: pray for me, dorks.

Previous * Guestbook * Next