Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 - 10:45 a.m.

Best referral log item in weeks: how to pick and measure a hand?

It's been a busy week. Here are two pieces of hings I wrote on Sunday night and never got to post:

Brent left a message on my phone that goes like this:

EVA! I WAS JUST DRIVING IN MY TRUCK AND I HAD THE BEST IDEA! WOULDN�T IT BE AWESOME IF IN THE MIDDLE OF A SHOW YOU JUST STOPPED WHAT YOU WERE DOING AND BROKE INTO THIS PART OF BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY BY QUEEN? HERE, THIS PART! [dull blare of car stereo] WOULDN�T THAT BE AWESOME?!?!

Brent does not drive drunk, so Brent was not drunk while leaving this message. And YES, it would be awesome.

This weekend L and I watched the first two Godfather movies (I�d never seen them). Now, those of you who have watched these movies know that that this is not at all like saying �I watched the first two Weekend at Bernie�s movies�, or even like saying �I watched Rushmore and Bottle Rocket.� I don�t just mean that the Godfather movies are twice as long as those movies, though they are. I mean that they�re fucking epic and gigantic and somehow manage to cover all of human emotion and interaction in six hours. They�re incredible. I am such an eloquent reviewer.

I feel weird these days, because I can't figure out how I'm doing. I feel a little fractured, a little behind on my work, changing my mind every day about what to do with myself. Rock music, after falling down the Hierarchy of Importance for many months, has zooped back up to near the top again. I feel way distant from my family and I don't like it, so I think about that a lot. All these PhD programs I applied to seem very far away and not at all like imminent possibilities. Right this moment I want to live in a house with a backyard for my cat and bike trails nearby, with a job proofreading and a novel in the works, with two rock bands and all my Columbia friends plus such people as Bettina, Mary, Chris, and Brent in the same town. Is that so much to ask?

Previous * Guestbook * Next