Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2004 - 11:22 a.m.

I really have nothing more to say about this quiz than LanguageHat already has.

Here's my score (image not loading, I know):

Grammar God!
You are a GRAMMAR GOD!

If your mission in life is not already to
preserve the English tongue, it should be.
Congratulations and thank you!

How grammatically sound are you?
brought to you by Quizilla
I think that should read "Congratulations! You are a speaker of a privileged dialect and have a good memory for arbitrary writing conventions!"

My favorite part of the quiz? The idea that knowing the abbreviation of the plural form of "mister" has something to do with grammar. Also, the idea that MLA punctuation style is somehow part of the English language. Witness my sentence fragments, O Ye Prescriptivists! I smash my deity status at your blue-veined feet!


Update: there is now a lucid discussion at LanguageLog regarding this quiz, in case you're wondering what's so bad about elitist, obsolete prescriptivism.

Previous * Guestbook * Next