Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004 - 11:15 a.m.

I have been reading this Nielsen Hayden entry, which comments on the whininess of rejected authors. It makes a good counterpart to Liz�s recurring Query Letter of the Day series. The other publishing-related entries at Nielsen Hayden are good, too, especially this one about agents, which led me to this site that catalogues sketchy writer-targeted scams. I knew such things as vanity presses existed, and I knew about the print equivalent of the song-poem industry (�Send in your poems for our anthology!�), but I had no idea that the scams were so extensive. Neat.

After a month-long bout of machoness, last night I caved and turned on my AC. Perhaps this has something to do with me getting another freelance job that�ll start Monday � money! Ha ha! Stuff the money through the cracks in the walls! Make a money sweater and stand in front of the AC vent!

What I�ll be doing sounds not-so-thrilling: correcting word-for-words, which means comparing two copies of a text to make sure they match up perfectly. For eight dollars an hour. But it�s temporary, and it�s for a reputable scholarly publisher. It�s a good thing I live where the cost of living is very low.

The bike is still in pieces in my kitchen, which is getting a little old. Tomorrow I�m going to a friend�s house to fix up he bearings in the front tube and bottom bracket. Then I need to buy some Sturmey Archer parts � a trigger, a cable, and a control chain � and then the bike will be ready, I believe. Hooray for summer. Thank Jehovah for kung fu bicycle and Priscilla Presley.

Previous * Guestbook * Next