Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Saturday, Aug. 21, 2004 - 7:59 p.m.

What It Takes To Get Me to Write an Entry

Usually I record events after they happen. Not this time. I am sitting on the screened porch in the backyard right now with my laptop, and I am likely to remain here for a while.

L�s other band is playing a show tonight with a very early sound check. About fifteen minutes ago he loaded up his gear, stepped out to the porch to say goodbye, and then drove off. A few minutes later, I got up to head inside to pee and shower�and the door was locked. All the doors are locked. Also, I am wearing a skimpy nightgown/chemise thing because I went swimming earlier and never got fully dressed again. I felt rather silly prancing around to the front door to check the lock.

We�ve meant for the last few weeks to hide a key somewhere out here, but have not yet gotten around to it. The cat door is very small, and the windows are all locked from the inside. So I am stuck outside with nothing but a laptop, the cat, some empty beer cans, today�s newspaper, and a shed full of tools.

L plans to come home after sound check and before the show, but sometimes sound checks can run long, and there�s certainly a chance he�ll call to say he�s just going to eat near the venue. I will hear the phone ringing and him asking me to head down to join him, but there will be nothing I can do about it. So, if you live here in Columbia and are planning to go to the show tonight, can you please mention to L that I am not dead but merely stuck on the back porch?

I just peed in a corner of the yard.

I would not perish were I to spend the night out here. There are cucumbers, eggplants, lemongrass, and basil in the garden. There is a hose from which I can get water. I could wrap myself in the rug to ward off the night chill. I even have cigarettes, five of them. There is, however, no beer.

Now you get links, because what do I have to do besides look at the internet?

My Neighbors Are Hoors. Read it all, from the beginning.

I am old. Why? Because I had to do an extensive web search yesterday to find out the meaning and connotations of the phrase �my baby�s daddy.� I heard it for the first time last week at work, and then Brent used it in a comic, so I had to look it up. It turns out to mean nothing more than what you would expect.

I found my answer in a �Teen Lingo� guide at a Christian youth ministry site (not to be confused with The Source). Now you too can Understand the Unchurched.

Essays that did not earn their writers a hamburger stand.

Auxiliary to Liz�s recent Next Blog discoveries: You can search Diaryland for journals whose authors have listed their favorite writer as "Myself".

This is about some people who want to move to where I live.

Update: I have eighteen minutes of battery time left. I've been out here for almost two hours. Fortunately there is bug spray, as the gnats have found their way through the screen.

Previous * Guestbook * Next