Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Monday, Oct. 02, 2006 - 12:43 p.m.

Yesterday I cleaned out the refrigerator, so we had a random meal:

- sauteed Swiss chard
- steamed okra
- Dutch babies*

*I can't believe my ancient, abandoned first site is still up. I don't know what to do about it.

I was going to make a cheese souffle instead of the Dutch baby, but it was 9:45 PM and I decided it would take too long. It's a good thing, too, because as soon as I put the Dutch babies in the oven, the bottom element caught on fire. It went out pretty quickly, and we turned the oven back on, but it did not work anymore. So the Dutch babies baked in the reserved heat, but they were kind of wet and less than wonderful. And while all this was going on, I oversteamed the okra, so it was sticky and slimy and exactly the way L likes it, Southern boy that he is.

Anyway, now we have a broken oven. Actually, it was already broken -- beeps all night unless you unplug it after you use it -- but now it won't work at all. We would buy a new one, but we have these grandiose plans to knock out some kitchen walls and move the oven to a reasonable place (instead of in a far corner of the kitchen, fifteen feet from the sink and counter space). So probably we will try to fix the oven. Or we will just let it languish like the two broken toilets and the unfurnished dining room.

Previous * Guestbook * Next