Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Monday, Oct. 09, 2006 - 8:44 p.m.

On Friday I ate sushi. It was with a bunch of people, and it was at the kind of sushi place that serves a lot of rolls with precious names and twelve ingredients, among them tempura crumbs and flavored mayonnaise. So my sushi meal was merely okay. But we did drink a bunch for my friend K's birthday, so that was good.

On Saturday I dashed around the kitchen at halftime of the South Carolina-Kentucky game*, sauteeing pork chops and little balls of breadcrumb-coated goat cheese. The cheese went on arugula, while the pork chops went by themselves, with just a pan sauce of garlic, vermouth, and parsley. The salad was kickass, the pork merely okay. But oh, I love pork.

*And I love college football. If the Eva of 10 anyother era in my life could have read this, she would have peed on the floor. Pork and football. Goddamn. But really, Steve Spurrier has made me love football. It is creative and fascinating. I'm just now starting to be able to watch the linemen in addition to the guys with the ball on each play -- just now starting to see the field for the chess game that it is. This play on Saturday blew my mind.

Last night we ate pizza at a bar. And tonight L is supposed to wake up from his nap and stir fry some tofu, broccoli, and bok choy.

Previous * Guestbook * Next