Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Sunday, Nov. 12, 2006 - 6:10 p.m.

I'm making pot roast. And my "i" key is misbehaving...I have to hit it really hard to make it work. Slows me down.

This is my first pot roast. I browned the meat, then sauteed some small whole onions and chopped carrots, then deglazed the pan with a can of High Life and transferred everything to the crockpot. There I added some stock, some fresh thyme, a bay leaf, salt and pepper, and sliced mushrooms. And three hours later it smells amazing. I'll give it another few hours.

Thought about making homemade egg noodles to go with the pot roast -- I haven't made noodles as an adult, though my brother and I used to help my mom crank pasta when we were kids (broomstick between table and windowsill; silky dough). But I'm not up for homemade pasta making tonight, so storebought noodles it is.

And speaking of my mom...(this is exciting)...I think she and I are going to start a blog together about what we cook and eat. Nothing fancy -- it'll be mostly for each other, because we always talk about what we cook and it would be good to have a running record, but hopefully it would make for interesting reading for other people, too. I floated the idea today, and she was excited, so hopefully we'll have it up soon. I don't think it would be much more fancy than what I've been doing here lately, but sometimes it would have pictures and recipes, and she is a good writer. She also wants to write sometimes about what my grandma cooks. So it'll be a three-generation food blog.

I'll keep posting here, probably...I let my gold account (the one that allows me to have images) run out, and I've been too lazy to get it back. But it would be nice to have backup.

Previous * Guestbook * Next