Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Friday, Nov. 28, 2003 - 11:06 a.m.

Apparently I have acquired the Southern monophthong.

After C and I left Chicago, his friend O said to him on the phone "I can't believe Eva has such a strong Southern accent after only living in the South for a few years".

What? That's crazy. C thought so, too. But then he started noticing a few words: 'twenty-faaaaaaahv'; 'Care-laaaaaaaaah-nuh'; 'haaaaaah' ('hi').

Shit. I have carefully avoided this, not because there's anything wrong with having a Southern accent in South Carolina, but because I don't want to have a Southern accent anywhere else in the country. Also, my family is totally going to mock me. Also, I already have too many other accents.

I'm in Madison recovering from Thanksgiving. It's snowing. I'm about to take the bus to the biochemistry building on campus. All these exciting tales and more will be described in loving detail upon my return.

Previous * Guestbook * Next