Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Monday, Dec. 01, 2003 - 8:54 p.m.

Sure sign of my period: I started crying today while listening to an NPR piece about the first woman to swim across the English Channel.

I�m back! It was thrilling for the first day, cuddling with my cat and walking along the river with L. Then I realized nothing much had changed, neither my unvacuumed floor nor the fact that I never get any work done in my office or after I have a glass of wine with dinner. Probably this is all again connected to my period. The difference is I have a bunch of things I really need and want to do tonight and tomorrow, and instead I�m pacing around my apartment. Maybe this, too, is connected to my period. At any rate, I feel lame.

My trip was wonderful. Beyond the Chicago excitement there�s not much to tell�I saw the wind knock an old woman over (she was okay), I drank a lot, I rode the bus around Madison, and I ate too much at Thanksgiving with a bunch of biochemists. In two weeks I depart again, this time for the Arizona Territory, and I�m very excited. The cat is not.

I feel a bit distanced from the internet, though, and from self-expression in general. Things are good, various life-related gears are clicking and grinding, and I'm excited, but I'm not feeling very introspective. Things feel too personal to talk about. Sometimes it gets like this, and I have to stall for a while before I can process it all. That's good, I think. But it doesn't feed the journal real well. I do apologize.

Previous * Guestbook * Next