Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Sunday, Aug. 21, 2005 - 7:21 p.m.

Yes: PJ Harvey's Rid of Me. I hadn't listened to it in years and had forgotten that it is BRILLIANT.

L doesn't like it.

That's okay, I guess, but I don't understand how it's possible. I think he and I are both overreacting musically to the end of Perfect Sleeper. I am listening to lots more punk rock and fast things -- the Red Aunts, Mission of Burma, even some Misfits -- and he is listening to even more Bedhead and Dump and Low than usual. It is good -- we clearly want to be in different bands.

I spent an uncomfortable few hours today in the studio with a friend's band. The friend was borrowing my amp. Studios make for stupid tension anyway, but this was especially tense because I was just kind of hanging around. Good people all around, but I was happy to leave.

W came over after that with his wife and kids, and though we didn't talk about the impending band breakup, all seemed well. So hopefully the drama of Wednesday was an isolated event and everything will be fine.

And library school? I think I am going to love it. I don't think it will be particularly challenging, at least at first, but I will do my best to make it so. I met some really good people yesterday, the kind of excited, hip, intelligent people I pined for while I was studying linguistics. So I like my future colleagues. I like what I know so far of the profession. And I like every professor I met yesterday. This will work.

And now, do you want to see something AWESOME?!!!? We didn't have periodical cicadas in Colorado, so these giant alien bug exoskeletons you find here in the summer are all new to me. But even L, who's lived here all his life, had never seen a cicada shedding its old skin. Until last night, when we found this on our shed:

GIANT ALIEN BUG


OMG

Too bad about the quality -- I don't know how to take pictures at night.

Previous * Guestbook * Next