Latest entry
Older entries
Email me
Diaryland
Clever Title, my old site. Beware popups.

Brent
Bettina
Liz
Kerry
Isaac
Johnny

Sunday, Oct. 16, 2005 - 7:25 p.m.

An illustrated entry

1. We have hundreds of chiles in our yard and don't know what to do with all of them. Already the fridge has many jars of pickled chiles, the cupboard is full of salt-packed chiles, and the kitchen table is covered in baskets and jars holding last year's dried crop. So we've been trying to figure out what to do with all the new ones.

So, last week I bought some unflavored gelatin for an unrelated purpose. I had some left over. L had been out of town all weekend...and he came home to this:

Glistening Chile Delight

We set it in the fridge to laugh at over the next few weeks, and as it slowly evaporates, each day a new chile is exposed. It's like fridge art.

2. The fair is in town:

Take some home for the baby

L made himself sick on fair food, including a foot-long corn dog:

Foot-long corn dog

3. Today I went to campus for the college radio station's music sale/rock show. I knew the music would get picked over pretty quickly, but I went anyway, and it was more picked over than I'd ever have imagined. Unless you need some Judy Collins on vinyl. All was not lost, though, because there I saw my friends PW and the magnificent Mr. Jones.

I also picked up one LP, solely because it has the awesomest, most heinous cover art in the history of recorded music:

Heinous

4. And, as usual, the nonvoting member of the household is failing to pull her own weight:


Previous * Guestbook * Next